Fitting the Pieces Together

As my comprehension of learning theories has increased, I have spent more time on metacognition.  I still believe that a lot of my learning is Behaviorist in nature.  When rewarded with good grades, I repeat the procedure.  When unsatisfied with my grade or instructor feedback, I evaluate my feedback, reread the expectations and produce something different (Ormrod, Schunk & Gredler, 2008).  Although this is my primary focus, I am also a connectivist.  I connect nodes of information as most adult learners do (Davis, Edmunds & Kelly-Bateman, 2008).  When reviewing my previous mind map, the reliance on internet based media becomes immediately apparent.  I utilize this technology to connect me with learning resources.  I then cross reference these nodes to produce an appropriate synthesis of information.  As an adult learner, I am intrinsically motivated and spend time setting goals and reviewing my progress (Conlan, Grabowski & Smith, 2003).   My epistemological beliefs have subtly colored my metacognition (Smith & Pourchot, 1998).  While I believe that engaging in learning is a choice available to everyone, I understand that educational institutions focus on the behaviors that demonstrate knowledge, not the actual knowledge for obvious measurable accountability reasons.  With this ingrained knowledge, I find myself drawn to Pavlov’s work when analyzing my own learning experiences.  I don’t look at how much more information my brain is storing, I simply analyze the products of my knowledge.  This subtle application of my epistemological belief creates a behaviorist predisposition.  Although I find myself constructing knowledge and communicating with others about the information, I remain fixated on behaviorism because it provides a method of measurement not inherent in other learning theories.  My overall learning style is a combination of connectivism, constructivism, social learning, cognitive principles and behaviorist adjustments, but my metacognition focuses on the behavioral responses to stimuli.

Throughout this metacognitive journey, I utilized technology for every facet of my education.  I research topics utilizing Google Scholar and record information in my One Note.  I then create projects via Microsoft Office programs.  This complete integration of technology is not limited in application to the laptop.  I replay videos and reread information via my cellular phone and highlight text on my nook.  Higher education has become a mobile endeavor.

References

Conlan, J., Grabowski, S., & Smith, K. (2003). Adult learning. In M. Orey (Ed.), Emerging perspectives on learning, teaching, and technology.  Retrieved from http://projects.coe.uga.edu/epltt/index.php?title=Adult_Learning

Davis, C., Edmunds, E., & Kelly-Bateman, V. (2008). Connectivism. In M. Orey (Ed.), Emerging perspectives on learning, teaching, and technology. Retrieved from http://projects.coe.uga.edu/epltt/index.php?title=Connectivism

Ormrod, J. E., Schunk, D. H., & Gredler, M. (2009). Learning theories and instruction. 2009: Pearson Custom Publishing.

Leave a Reply

